Captain. I once had the same dealings once with the government agency's with a very similar issue. my Friend called one of the news stations from Huntsville and they had someone on it in a matter of minutes.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .