I just assumed Vic posted the article because he thought it was interesting and wanted to share it with the forum folks. I thought it was an interesting article also. I don't believe they are who they claim to be, I don't think Vic does either.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .