My high school students are currently debating this topic. Their discussions have been interesting. Even more interesting is the realization, among some, that many of the 'facts' presented have never been verified.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .