Uber has a long history of relying on the axiom.."The best defense is a good offense"...he attacks because there is no depth in his discussions...he may not disagree with you at all...he just has nothing constructive to add..
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .